Welcome

Welcome to the blog of the Office of Pro-Life Activities for the Diocese of Birmingham, Alabama.

My name is Amy Welborn, and I am currently serving as the coordinator of the office, as a volunteer.

My husband, Michael Dubruiel was serving in this capacity as part of his position as Director of the New Evangelization for the diocese until his sudden death on February 3, 2009.

John Martignoni has assumed the position of Director of the New Evangelization.  Before he began the job on May 1, I had met with several pro-life ministry coordinators in the diocese and in listening to their sense of what the needs are in this area, I discerned that it would be helpful if there was someone in the diocese who could focus solely on the Pro-life office, even short term, and set some processes and programs in place to facilitate communication and strengthen the diocese’s active support for Pro-life ministries.

I presented the idea to Bishop Baker, and volunteered to work in this area as a volunteer. He readily agreed, and so here we are!

I have worked in and around the pro-life movement for years. In the early 1980s, I served as chapter coordinator for Feminists for Life, and then in the late 1980’s and early 1990’s, I worked as assistant director and media contact for Gainesville Right to Life in Gainesville, FL.

If you would like to learn more about me, you can visit my web page or my own personal blog.

In terms of communication with me, please feel free to contact me in any of the following ways:

By email – adubruiel@bhmdiocese.org

By telephone, at the Chancery: 205-838-8322, and ask for the Office of the New Evangelization.

Please feel free to leave comments here in this blog, as well.

Leave a Reply

